Gas is for Deep Pockets?

Gas StationI buy gas for my motorcycle every Tuesday and last time I went to the gas station, it shocked me with the price. I never felt the rapid increasing price like this. I usually buy a 92 octane gasoline (Premium Grade) and it has reached Rp. 10.600 per liter (about US$ 4.39 per gallon), last two weeks I bought it in Rp. 10.300 per liter (about US$ 4.26 per gallon). Six months ago I could bought it in price Rp. 8.600 per liter (about US$ 3.56 per gallon).

I could do some saving if I use the octane 88 (Regular Grade) one which price is Rp. 6.000 per liter (about US$ 2.48 per gallon) instead of the 92 octane one. Well all I can say is it just a matter of habit. When you usually fill up your tank with a higher octane there are a lot of consideration if you want to downgrade your gas.

But I’m not all alone, other countries has the same condition with me in Indonesia. For example :

Flag of MalaysiaMalaysia
The octane 92 (Premium Grade) in Malaysia have reached RM 2.62 per liter (about US$ 3.03 per gallon)
View the Source
Flag of SingaporeSingapore
The octane 92 (Premium Grade) in Singapore have reached S$ 2.253 per liter (about US$ 6.25 per gallon)
View the Source
Flag of AustraliaAustralia
The ULP (octane between 91-93/Premium Grade) in Australia have reached A$ 1.51 per liter (about US$ 5.45 per gallon)
View the Source
Summary Table (Octane 92)
Country Indonesia Malaysia Singapore Australia
Price (US$/Gallon) 4.26 3.03 6.25 5.45

Well, I realized that people in other countries has nearly the same condition with me in Indonesia. Maybe some country has more expensive gas price. I could not estimate how much the increasing of the price could affect the daily life (or precisely the life of vehicle user), since the the differences of traffic condition. In Indonesia (especially in Jakarta) there’s no day without traffic jam (except for holidays), and it makes the average fuel consumption very high.

Seems I should do more analysis after this


Anton Hermansyah

Logo of Anton Hermansyah

Tags:

Leave a Reply

